Home > Accidents, Driving, Safety > Update: Teen Hit And Run Victim Dies

Update: Teen Hit And Run Victim Dies

Update: Teen Hit And Run Victim Dies.

Sad news today of a teen dying from injuries sustained in a hit-and-run accident on Friday evening.

Richmond Police are seeking help from the community in locating the driver that hit 15-year-old Tiara Rosa. 

The driver is descrived as a white male with long, light-colored hair and was wearing a baseball hat. The truck is being described as a small beige or tan single cab pickup and should have front end damage on the right side with headlights broken out. The driver was last seen heading north on Walmsley Boulevard

Tiara and her mother, from New York, were walking Westbound in the 4400 block Walmsley Boulevard on the side of the street when the accident occurred.

If you have any information that might help the driver to be found please call Crime Stoppers at 780-1000

Unfortunately there are no sidewalks in the 4400 block of Walmsley Boulevard so pedestrians are forced to walk in the street. This is a very dangerous situation, especially at night. The web site Perils for Pedestrians has the following information:

A 1983 study by Tobey et. al. investigated the safety effects of sidewalks. Sites with no sidewalks or pathways were the most hazardous for pedestrians, with pedestrian hazard scores of +2.6 and a PxV exposure score (i.e. exposure measure includes pedestrian volumes times traffic volume) of +2.2. This indicates that accidents at sites without sidewalks are more than twice as likely to occur than expected. Sites with sidewalks on one side of the road had a pedestrian volume and PxV hazard scores of +1.2 and +1.1, compared to scores of -1.2 and -1.2 for sites with sidewalks on bothsides of the road. Thus, sites with no sidewalks were the most hazardous to pedestrians, and least hazardous where sidewalks are present on both sides of the road.

There are many streets in the Richmond metro area that have no sidewalks. Please be careful when you walk these streets and make sure to wear bright clothing, especially at night. Pedestrians walking are difficult to see when driving.

Categories: Accidents, Driving, Safety
  1. Matthew Vargon
    March 7, 2009 at 9:04 am

    I was uhmm….. I was a friend of Tiara’s….. we went to middle school 45, in The Bronx, together….. she was a great friend and a very fun girl to be around. She was very intelligent and always knew how to lighten up any mood. Tiara Rosa will be missed by all of her friends. We all have heavy hearts for this tragic time. I wish the best for her family in this time of grief…… I am so sorry for your loss. Rest in Peace Tiara Rosa, we all love you and miss you. <|3

  2. Jayayseezeewhy
    May 13, 2009 at 8:46 pm

  3. joe roche
    August 31, 2009 at 3:25 am

    i was a close friend of tiara rosa i really miss her and i want to contact tiaras mom but i need help doing dat so if u can please email me with the number of her mmom thnk you joeyyrilla@live.com

    • Michelle
      November 2, 2009 at 4:28 pm

      I know you joe tiara always spoke highly of you and all of her best friends. I am hurting joe so much and i feel like life is not worth living without my beautiful daughter tiara. I know killing myself will be a send and i will never see tiara in heaven which she is an angel so pure.
      Tiara is the love of my life and always will be

      Tiaras mom Michelle Medford
      860-206-1485

  4. Giovanni Santiago
    October 21, 2009 at 3:14 am

    Tiara, I don’t even know what to say anymore. She never deserved to die like this. She never deserved to die, period. We went to high school together and I loved her. I still remember her face from the last time I saw her. I hope she’s happy wherever she is and I know I’ll meet her soon…

    R.I.P. Tiara
    =]

  5. corinr smith
    September 27, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    TIARA I LOVE AND WILL ALWAYS MISS U…YOUR OLDEST SISTER…..

  6. corinr smith
    September 27, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    LOVE YA MY LITTLE SIS..RIP

  7. COrine smith
    September 28, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    my baby sister…its been over a year..i just could nt come to terms with u gone…u ws on my mind all last nite..i never read any articles till last night…ur really gone…everytime i go to grandma house i c ur picture…those eyes…those eyes i c in my daughter..i knw ur spirit is in her..she is too smart..nd out going..and has this way about her..like she has been here before…i love u tiara..i c and hear u in my dreams….but i cnt touch u…ur truly misses my angle

  8. Foxiela Morel
    September 30, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Hello to all Tiaras friends and family. I feel your grief I feel your pain. Tiara was my best friend and still has that spot in my heart. If I only could turn back the hands of time and actually relive the last day of her smiling in my presence and taking pictures with me. One thing I feel good about is before Tiaras movement to virginia I spent evry day with her in school and at my home like it was my last. I miss her dearly and she hasn’t and will never leave my mind. I think about so often. I send condolences to Tiaras family she Is missed greatly. Please mitchelle contact me I begg you some how reach me 😦 Its foxy
    My email is availible please contact me!

  9. Foxiela Morel
    September 30, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    My number is 347-520-3071

  10. Ivan Jines
    October 11, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    All i wanted to say is that I loved Tiara for a longtime and i still do. She was my first love like i was hers. And i will never forget Tiara, I still miss her dearly. And please i want to be able to contact her Mom and be able to talk to her about everything.10/15/07 is when i fell in love with her. I love you. Rest in Peace. Contact me on 1.718.360.7011

  11. corine smith
    October 20, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    i wanna say thank u too all that has shown my sis love….its amazing how she has touch everybdy hearts and still is…she is very much still with us.

  12. jessica
    January 20, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    i was a friend of tiara’s. She was a realli sweet and happy person. I remember when I first met her. She was new to the school down here in va. My teacher asked me to help her out cause it was her first day. Even tho I only spent a couple weeks with her while she was at school i still had feelings for her as a friend. The time we spent together was great. I cried so hard when I found out what happend.My dad took her in at the hospital. I had told him that was a friend of mines. A girl like her should have never went through that. R.I.P. Tiara

  13. May 2, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    Wow, this is a very sad story and hope that the family is encouraged by the warm letters of support.

    • Michelle Medford
      July 6, 2011 at 4:33 pm

      This is the mother of Tiara Rosa. This man that killed my daughter only recieved 10 years, with 7 years suspended. I witness this man striking my daughter right in front of me. It happened so fast, thats how fast that this man was driving. We was on our way to 7-11 grocery store when this happened. The night that it happened right in front of my eyes, I was in shock and all of a sudden I screamed real loud, I could never forget that. Then the driver who name is Bryan Christopher Shull, who is all over the internet for committing this horrible crime. He stopped when and turned around and saw me running towards his truck and speeded off. He left me and my dying daughter in the dark.People came out of their homes to help us but I was losing consciousness on the ground beside my dying 15 year daughter. My child was an A student who wanted to become a Doctor to help save lives, but her life was shorten, because these two brothers who admitted in court that they was high on drugs, and was bar hopping that night. The brother that was in the passenger side said that him and his brother took their eyes off the road for a minute because they was talking and reaching for more beers, and thats when they fatally struck my daughterr. Bryan the driver even try to bribe a undercover cop to say that they was together that night. The conversation was recorded and presented in court. Bryan Christopher Shull has no remorse for what he has done, and i have been told that by several lawyers.
      He is now about to get out in December 9, 2012 for the murder of my child which took place January 16, 2009. He is at the Indian Creek Correctional Center in Virginia.
      My e-mail is luvtiara2010@COMCAST.NET

      • December 11, 2012 at 8:13 pm

        Michelle Medford :
        This is the mother of Tiara Rosa. This man that killed my daughter only recieved 10 years, with 7 years suspended. I witness this man striking my daughter right in front of me. It happened so fast, thats how fast that this man was driving. We was on our way to 7-11 grocery store when this happened. The night that it happened right in front of my eyes, I was in shock and all of a sudden I screamed real loud, I could never forget that. Then the driver who name is Bryan Christopher Shull, who is all over the internet for committing this horrible crime. He stopped when and turned around and saw me running towards his truck and speeded off. He left me and my dying daughter in the dark.People came out of their homes to help us but I was losing consciousness on the ground beside my dying 15 year daughter. My child was an A student who wanted to become a Doctor to help save lives, but her life was shorten, because these two brothers who admitted in court that they was high on drugs, and was bar hopping that night. The brother that was in the passenger side said that him and his brother took their eyes off the road for a minute because they was talking and reaching for more beers, and thats when they fatally struck my daughterr. Bryan the driver even try to bribe a undercover cop to say that they was together that night. The conversation was recorded and presented in court. Bryan Christopher Shull has no remorse for what he has done, and i have been told that by several lawyers.
        He is now about to get out in December 9, 2012 for the murder of my child which took place January 16, 2009. He is at the Indian Creek Correctional Center in Virginia.
        My e-mail is luvtiara2010@COMCAST.NET

  14. Michelle Medford
    July 6, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    In memory of Tiara Lee Rosa
    Thank you for reaching out to me. All of Tiara best friends, Teachers at Rennaisance High School
    Tiara Mother Michelle Medford
    luvtiara2010@comcast.net

  15. Tavia
    December 2, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    Rest In peace Tiara

  16. Corine
    December 9, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    I miss u.. Sis… Everytime I think of u tears flow … U gone I can never accept that. I miss u I miss u I miss u .. My baby sister I miss you

  17. Michelle
    December 11, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    Thank You Gigi
    Michelle

  1. November 11, 2009 at 11:44 am

Leave a Reply

