Home > Driving, Laws > Virginia Drivers Ticketed For Not Providing Proof of Insurance | Richmond Personal Injury Lawyer

Virginia Drivers Ticketed For Not Providing Proof of Insurance | Richmond Personal Injury Lawyer

The majority of states in the U.S. require that drivers carry car insurance, but Virginia is one of the few states that allow drivers to forego coverage if they pay a $500 fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Also, it is not a crime if a driver fails to carry their insurance card on them to show to police officers if they are pulled over.

Despite this law, however, there have been reports that drivers are being fined for failing to provide proof of insurance. Apparently, police officers and members of the courts have been misinterpreting Virginia code § 46.2-707. In actuality, in order to be charged under this law, a driver must admit that the car is uninsured and that the $500 DMV fee had not been paid. The consequences include a Class 3 misdemeanor, license suspension, plus a $500 fine.

Before making any statements to any insurance adjuster, we recommend reading our free accident injury book that will provide some insider information regarding car accident claims. If you have further questions about car accidents with uninsured drivers in Virginia, don’t hesitate to contact us.

Advertisements
  1. January 19, 2012 at 6:22 am

    I absolutely agree. Insurance should be compulsory for accident victims. Those who dont hold it should be heavily penalised.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s