Drunk driving is a serious issue that claims thousands of lives each year. This past holiday weekend Virginia State Police beefed up patrols in order to control the increase in traffic and keep an eye out for drunk drivers. Last year there were 152 arrests related to drunk driving and 744 car crashes during the 4th of July weekend in Virginia.
With tougher underage drinking and driving penalties that went into effect at the beginning of the month, hopefully the incidences of drunk driving will go down. Underage drinkers in Virginia who are convicted of drunk driving will lose their drivers license for a month plus a $500 minimum fine or 50 hours of community service. Previously the fine was no more than $500 and a loss of license for six months.
Not only will guilty parties face these harsher penalties, but there is also the chance that they could face a lawsuit if they are involved in a car accident that causes injury or death to another person. Last year 1,285 underage drinkers were convicted of a DUI in Virginia. Is it really worth it for a few hours of fun?
If you or someone you know has been involved in a car accident with a drunk driver, you may want to consider consulting with a Richmond personal injury attorney who will protect your rights and make sure you get the help you need to recover from any injuries and damages.